Story behind Alchitry

alchitry – As a chemical engineer I appreciate that Alchitry is a portmanteau of alchemy and circuitry. That is a cool why to think about the FPGA. It is clever how this extends to your logo. You also write that FPGAs are magical. This shows that FPGAs really captured your imagination. Can you give us more insight into your experiences that led to the Alchitry project?

Oh man. This is a bit of a long story but I’ll write the short version here.

My interest first got peaked back in high school when I first started messing with electronics. Back then I was mainly writing C for microcontrollers. I came across a blog post from SparkFun where they announced that they were selling the LCDs found in PSPs. In the post they mentioned that you’d “need something powerful like an FPGA” to drive the display. They didn’t explain what an FPGA was and my search on the internet didn’t reveal very much.

A few years later I got an internship at Northrop Grumman where I was tasked to write some PC side software to test one of the boards they were making. The board happened to have a bunch of FPGAs on it and I asked my boss if there was something I could do to learn about them. He was awesome enough to set me up with an engineer there who spend a few hours laying the foundation for what they were and what they could do.

I spend another week or so learning about them and then wrote some designs that I’m sure were terrible and never used. The following Summer I had taught myself enough to create some actually useful designs though.

Then I went to college for EE and after the end of my freshman year I started working on an FPGA board that I wanted largely for my own projects. At the time, basically all the FPGA boards were huge “development” boards with tons of crap you didn’t really want. My first board was like 14"x14". Hardly something you could cram into your own projects.