I/O Magic on Au and VHDL

I just got a brand new shiny Au two days ago, along with an IO element and a breadboard shield, and I was going through the first couple of Tutorial examples over the weekend, which worked all fine. But I am afraid, I don’t quite understand them, or more precisely, the stuff that goes on behind the scenes. To begin with, I have no experience or knowledge in Verilog at all, and even less in Lucid - I do know some VHDL though.

Here is what I don’t understand: Who sits on top of the au_top model in Verilog and knows where to route the clk and the rst_n signals, as well as the led vector and the usb_rc and usb_tx signals to? There must be some correspondence to the physical signals on the board - where is that defined? And how would I define those if I were to try to convert the tutorials to VHDL, which I would very much like to do to gain some familiarity back? :huh: Where can I find out about these things to read up on?

Since no one else responded yet, and I think I meanwhile figured out the answers to my questions by myself, I guess I should provide my own answers here in case someone else has the same question somewhere down the road and stumbles upon this forum entry.